2020 Virtual World Vitiligo Day Event | MyVitiligoTeam

Connect with others who understand.

sign up log in
About MyVitiligoTeam

2020 Virtual World Vitiligo Day Event

Posted on May 28, 2020


MyVitiligoTeam and the Global Vitiligo Foundation are excited to announce the 2020 Virtual World Vitiligo Day - USA event.

Schedule - 2020 Virtual World Vitiligo Day, June 27, 2020

1:00 pm ET

10:00 am PT

Opening Welcome:
Event host Tiffanie Foster and founding Co-Chair of the Global Vitiligo Foundation, Dr. Iltefat Hamzavi.
1:15 pm ET
10:15 am PT
That Vitiligo Guy:
James Mcleod shares his vitiligo story as a motivational speaker, social influencer, personal trainer, and author.
1:45 pm ET
10:45 am PT
History of World Vitiligo Day:
Executive Director of the Vitiligo Research Foundation, Professor Yan Valle, shares how this special day started.
2:00 pm ET
11:00 am PT
Mental Health and Wellbeing:
Licensed professional therapist, Andre Joachim, and globally recognized dermatologic expert, Dr. Pearl Grimes, discuss the importance of emotional wellness during these extraordinary times. Moderated by MyVitiligoTeam cofounder, Eric Peacock.
2:30 pm ET
11:30 am PT
Vitiligo Portrait Series:
Renowned British photographer, Brock Elbank, tells stories of the phenomenal subjects who took part in his 2017 portrait series.
3:00 pm ET
12:00 pm PT
Community Q&A:
Hear stories and ask questions of other vitiligo community members. Hosted by Tiffanie Foster.
3:15 pm ET
12:15 pm PT
Advocacy and Policy:
Dr. Seemal Desai, a Diplomate of the American Board of Dermatology, provides an advocacy and policy update.
3:30 pm ET
12:30 pm PT
Doctor Panel and Q&A:
Medical experts discuss the latest vitiligo research, treatments and answer your questions. Roundtable discussion with Dr. Richard Huggins, Dr. Pearl Grimes, Dr. Iltefat Hamzavi, Dr. Amit Pandya, and Dr. Seemal R Desai.
4:00 pm ET
1:00 pm PT
MyVitiligoTeam:
Learn about the power of connecting people with chronic conditions through a dedicated social network. Eric Peacock, CEO of MyHealthTeams, demonstrates the features and benefits of the MyVitiligoTeam online community.
4:30 pm ET
1:30 pm PT
Closing & Thank You:
Founder of Minnesota VITFriends, Alicia Roufs, shares a preview of World Vitiligo Day 2021.

2020 Virtual World Vitiligo Day is coming up soon. Check out these amazing speakers:

James Mcleod (That Vitiligo Guy) is a force of positivity, dedicated to shaping bodies and minds through self-love and inclusivity. He'll be sharing his story as a motivational speaker, social influencer, personal trainer, and author.
Dr. Richard H. Huggins, MD joined the dermatology staff at Henry Ford Hospital in 2012 and was named division head of the Department of Dermatology in 2018. Dr. Huggins is the author of numerous journal articles and chapters studying treatments and quality of life for people with vitiligo and other skin conditions.
Andre Joachim is a proud advocate in the Vitiligo community and has been living with Vitiligo for 28 years. Andre Joachim is a third year doctoral student at Northern Illinois University (NIU) and graduated with his master’s degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling from the NIU. He works as a Youth and Family Therapist and is a Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) and a Nationally Certified Counselor (NCC) specializing in Trauma and PTSD. He is currently engaged in research that focuses on suicidality in the Vitiligo community.
Eric Peacock is the cofounder of MyVitiligoTeam - a fast-growing social network for people facing vitiligo. In just three months after launching, over 2,500 people with vitiligo have joined, and hundreds more are joining every month. Eric, who has had vitiligo since he was a child, is also the cofounder and CEO of MyHealthTeams - a mission-driven company that has already created similar social networks in 36 other chronic conditions serving 2.4 million members.
Dr. Pearl E. Grimes, MD, FAAD is a globally recognized dermatologic expert and a leading international authority on vitiligo and pigmentation disorders. As Director of the Vitiligo and Pigmentation Institute of Southern California, she treats patients from all over the world who seek her expertise and extraordinary patient care.
Brock Elbank, an accomplished photographer living in London, had his first fashion editorial published with The Sunday Times Style Magazine’s Isabella Blow in 1998. In 2013 he embarked upon #Project60 which became Beard a two year Portrait series to raise awareness for an Australian Skin Cancer Charity at London’s Somerset House attracting £1.5m in media. This shaped Elbank’s work to what it is today documenting a variety of striking and honest Portrait series on Freckles, Vitiligo, CMN and now his current Portrait series Scars.
Prof. Yan Valle, a successful business leader by trade, was diagnosed with vitiligo in his early childhood. In 2010, Yan committed full-time to combating vitiligo and improving quality of life for those affected by this neglected disease. He has since developed a new, interdisciplinary research model and leads bio-IT platform development.
Dr. Iltefat Hamzavi, MD is an active clinic researcher and investigates causes and treatments for vitiligo, hidradenitis suppurativa, photomedicine, and other conditions. He has co-authored over 100 peer reviewed papers which have been cited over 2,000 times in highly respected journals.
Dr. Amit G. Pandya, MD is a vitiligo specialist and researcher currently based in Palo Alto, CA. Dr. Pandya has given hundreds of lectures nationally and internationally, and has published over 200 research articles and book chapters, mostly on pigmentary disorders.
Dr. Seemal R Desai, MD, FAAD is the Founder and Medical Director of Innovative Dermatology in Dallas, Texas as well as a faculty member at UT Southwestern. He serves on the Board of Directors of the American Academy of Dermatology, as Immediate Past President of the Skin of Color Society, and on the US Food & Drug Administration PCAC.
Our event host, Tiffanie Foster, dedicates her life to empowering youth through affirmations of self-love. Her message is simple: “I Am Great” - declaring that no matter what life obstacles may come your way, you are destined for greatness. Tiffanie recently completed a 30-state tour speaking about her vitiligo journey and helping others with vitiligo discover their “Super Power”.

A MyVitiligoTeam Member said:

Can't wait

posted 3 months ago

hug

Recent articles

Mht ad fb savethedate02 v2
Medical experts discuss the latest in Vitiligo research, treatments and answer your...

Your Vitiligo Questions Answered LIVE on MyVitiligoTeam

Medical experts discuss the latest in Vitiligo research, treatments and answer your...
Mht infographic symptoms myvitiligoteam
Below the surface, living with vitiligo can mean self-consciousness, dealing with rude questions,...

Vitiligo: What People Don't See (Infographic)

Below the surface, living with vitiligo can mean self-consciousness, dealing with rude questions,...
Myvitligoteam pollresults contenthero
Article written by Kelly Crumrin Last month, MyHealthTeams partnered with the Global Vitiligo...

World Vitiligo Day Poll Results: Your Answers About Life With Vitiligo

Article written by Kelly Crumrin Last month, MyHealthTeams partnered with the Global Vitiligo...
Narrowband ultraviolet b treatment
Article written by Eric Peacock Medically reviewed by Michelle Rodrigues, M.B.B.S., FACD...

Narrowband Ultraviolet B Treatment and Vitiligo: An Interview With Dr. Michelle Rodrigues

Article written by Eric Peacock Medically reviewed by Michelle Rodrigues, M.B.B.S., FACD...
Sun protection and vitiligo
Article written by Eric Peacock Medically reviewed by Michelle Rodrigues, M.B.B.S., FACD “Eric,...

Sun Protection and Vitiligo: An Interview With Dr. Michelle Rodrigues

Article written by Eric Peacock Medically reviewed by Michelle Rodrigues, M.B.B.S., FACD “Eric,...
Are people with vitiligo at higher risk for skin cancer
Article written by Eric Peacock Medically reviewed by Michelle Rodrigues, M.B.B.S., FACD Many...

Are People With Vitiligo at Higher Risk for Skin Cancer? An Interview with Dr. Michelle Rodrigues

Article written by Eric Peacock Medically reviewed by Michelle Rodrigues, M.B.B.S., FACD Many...
Mht covid19 essentialupdates carousel
During the COVID-19 pandemic, MyVitiligoTeam will provide summaries and links to articles of...

COVID-19 and Vitiligo Essential Updates

During the COVID-19 pandemic, MyVitiligoTeam will provide summaries and links to articles of...
Upcomingtherapies carousel
Article written by Eric Peacock Medically reviewed by John E. Harris, MD, PhD [0:15 - 3:16] How...

Upcoming Therapies for Vitiligo - Q&A with Dr. John Harris

Article written by Eric Peacock Medically reviewed by John E. Harris, MD, PhD [0:15 - 3:16] How...
Msl af myvitiligoteam kim boyd
I was diagnosed the summer after my 50th birthday. I had limited knowledge of vitiligo. My few...

Member Spotlight: Vitiligo Defined My Purpose

I was diagnosed the summer after my 50th birthday. I had limited knowledge of vitiligo. My few...
Coronavirus
Article written by Kelly Crumrin Those of us living with pre-existing health conditions such as...

Canceling Is Kindness: Keeping Safe From Coronavirus With Vitiligo

Article written by Kelly Crumrin Those of us living with pre-existing health conditions such as...
MyVitiligoTeam My vitiligo Team

Two Ways to Get Started with MyVitiligoTeam

Become a Member

Connect with others who are living with vitiligo. Get members only access to emotional support, advice, treatment insights, and more.

sign up

Become a Subscriber

Get the latest articles about vitiligo sent to your inbox.

Not now, thanks

Privacy policy
MyVitiligoTeam My vitiligo Team

Thank you for signing up.

close